Five Northeast Minnesota Schools Receive Schools Cutting Carbon Grant

Northeast Higher Education District Sustainability Collaborative – Hibbing, Itasca, Mesabi Range, Rainy River, and Vermilion Community Colleges: These five community colleges comprise the Northeast Higher Education District (NHED). Student sustainability teams at each NHED campus will focus on one of five areas relevant to the carbon footprint of higher-education institutions: student housing (Rainy River), commuting (Hibbing), food service (Itasca), solid waste (Mesabi Range), and lighting (Vermilion).

Implementing a Trayless Cafeteria

Members of the Green Campus Project are working with the UW-Platteville Food Services to educate students about the benefits of going trayless.

University of Minnesota, Morris works to promote local foods with partners

Morris continues to develop relationships between farmers and consumers by celebrating with a meal of locally grown food.

Luther Cafeteria goes "Trayless"

Luther College Dining Services has “gone trayless” for three months as part of the college’s sustainability initiative and is now evaluating the pros and cons of trayless cafeteria operations.

Subscribe to UMACS Mailing List