Five Northeast Minnesota Schools Receive Schools Cutting Carbon Grant

Northeast Higher Education District Sustainability Collaborative – Hibbing, Itasca, Mesabi Range, Rainy River, and Vermilion Community Colleges: These five community colleges comprise the Northeast Higher Education District (NHED). Student sustainability teams at each NHED campus will focus on one of five areas relevant to the carbon footprint of higher-education institutions: student housing (Rainy River), commuting (Hibbing), food service (Itasca), solid waste (Mesabi Range), and lighting (Vermilion).

St Olaf and Carleton Wind Turbines

Two Northfield, Minnesota colleges were some of the first in the nation to install wind turbines to help power their campuses.

Luther and Wartburg Compete in Energy Challenge

This February, Luther College and Wartburg entered a new era of their rivalry: Energy Challenge 2009. This Challenge consisted of a head-to-head competition between the schools to reduce the most overall electricity and heating usage. The winning school got a hand-carved trophy and a year of bragging rights.

University of Minnesota, Morris and partners work to demonstrate new energy and building technologies

The University of Minnesota, Morris and the University of Minnesota West Central Research and Outreach Center work together to develop renewable energy initiatives and demonstrate new green building technologies and ideas. A website is available to learn more about these initiatives.

University of Minnesota, Morris launches new biomass gasification curriculum with partners

University of Minnesota, Morris has been awarded a grant of $174,258 by the Renewable Energy Marketplace - Alliance for Talent Development (MNREM) initiative to develop a new curriculum in biomass gasification technology which will serve participants during an intensive three-week pilot to be offered in May 2009 on the Morris campus.

Subscribe to UMACS Mailing List